WestJet gives Canadians More Sun and Fun for This Coming Winter



Release Date

Monday, August 13, 2018


 WestJet guests across Canada will have more ways to escape the cold this winter with the release of WestJet's seasonal schedule for winter 2018/2019. The schedule includes more flights from WestJet hubs to domestic, transborder, international and sun destinations including Maui, Phoenix, Las Vegas, Orlando, Huatulco, Puerto Vallarta and Belize, among others.

As part of the winter schedule, WestJet announced twice-weekly, non-stop service between Calgary International Airport (YYC) and Sangster International Airport in Montego Bay, Jamaica (MBJ) and weekly, non-stop service between Skyxe Saskatoon Airport (YXE) and Orlando International Airport (MCO). The services start November 3, 2018 and December 7, 2018, respectively.

"WestJet guests across our network continue to benefit from new destinations, schedule improvements and more flights," said Tim Croyle, WestJet Interim Executive Vice-President, Commercial. "We continue growing our hubs to ensure the best travel experience for Canadians while laying the foundation for the entry of our Boeing 787-9 Dreamliners from these hubs to the world."






Calgary – Montego Bay

Twice weekly

9:30 a.m.

4:44 p.m.

Nov. 3, 2018*

Montego Bay – Calgary

Twice weekly

1:20 p.m.

7:20 p.m.

Nov. 3, 2018*

Saskatoon – Orlando


2:30 p.m.

7:50 p.m.

December 7, 2018

Orlando – Saskatoon


9:00 a.m.

12:59 p.m.

December 7, 2018

*Once weekly effective November 3, 2018 moving to twice weekly effective January 6, 2019.

This winter, WestJet will operate an average of 701 daily flights to 96 destinations including 39 in Canada, 22 in the United States, 34 in Mexico, the Caribbean and Central America, and one in Europe.

Highlights of WestJet's 2018/2019 winter schedule include:


  • Calgary-Nanaimo, from two times daily to three times daily or 21 weekly flights.
  • Calgary-Kamloops, from two times daily to three times daily or 21 weekly flights.
  • Calgary-Kelowna, from seven times daily to nine times daily each business day, or 59 weekly flights – more than any other carrier.
  • Calgary-Fort St. John will double service from once daily to twice daily.
  • Calgary-Grand Prairie, from four times daily to five times daily each business day.
  • Calgary-Yellowknife will double service from once daily to twice daily.
  • Calgary-Regina, from six daily flight to seven daily flights or 49 weekly.
  • Calgary-Saskatoon, from six daily flights to eight daily flights each business day.
  • Calgary-Maui, from four weekly flights to seven weekly flights.
  • Calgary-Phoenix, from 20 to 21 times weekly or three times daily.
  • Calgary-Las Vegas, from 19 to 20 times weekly.
  • Calgary-Orlando, from five to seven times weekly.
  • Calgary-Cancun, from 16 to 20 times weekly.
  • Calgary-Cabo San Lucas, from eight weekly flights to 10 weekly flights.
  • Calgary-Huatulco, from two weekly flights to three weekly flights.
  • Calgary-Mazatlan, from three weekly flights to four weekly flights.
  • Calgary-Puerto Vallarta, from 14 to 19 times weekly.
  • Calgary-Ixtapa/Zihuantanejo, from four weekly flights to five times weekly flights.
  • Calgary-Belize, from one to two times weekly.
  • Calgary-Nashville seasonal route ending will now be November 26, 2018 and will resume on March 1, 2019.
  • Extension of existing summer service on WestJet Link through the winter between Calgary and Cranbrook, Lethbridge, Medicine Hat, Lloydminster and Prince George.


  • An additional daily flight from Vancouver to Nanaimo.


  • An increase of one daily flight from Edmonton to Kelowna for a total of seven flights a day each business day.
  • Edmonton-Los Angeles, from six weekly flights to seven weekly flights.
  • Edmonton-Orlando from once weekly to twice weekly.
  • Edmonton-Cabo San Lucas from once weekly to twice weekly.


  • Toronto-Las Vegas, from 14 weekly flights to 15 weekly.
  • Toronto-Fort Lauderdale from 12 weekly flights to 16 weekly.
  • Toronto-Orlando, from 15 weekly to 18 times weekly.
  • Toronto-Tampa, from seven weekly to eight times weekly.
  • Toronto-Kingston, Jamaica, from two to three times weekly.
  • Toronto-Grand Cayman, from two weekly flights to three times weekly flights.
  • Toronto-Nassau, from nine weekly flights to 12 weekly flights.
  • Toronto-Turks and Caicos, from two weekly flights to four times weekly.
  • Toronto-San Juan, from one weekly flight to two times weekly.
  • Toronto-St. Maarten will operate four times weekly.
  • Toronto-London (ON), from 14 weekly flights to 21 weekly flights or three times daily.

For more information on new routes and increased frequencies in WestJet's 2018/2019 winter schedule, please visit westjet.com/flight-schedules-new.

Latest Stories