Longlist of New Generation Photography Awards Announced, Presented by Canadian Photography Institute



Release Date

Wednesday, February 20, 2019


For the second year, the Canadian Photography Institute of the National Gallery of Canada and Scotiabank announce the 23 longlisted artists vying for the 2019 New Generation Photography Award.

Congratulations to the long listed photographers: 

Rebecca Bair, Ottawa, Ontario

Alice Boutten, Rimouski, Quebec

Matthew Brooks, Montreal, Quebec

Hannah Campbell, Vancouver, British Columbia

Sam Cotter, Toronto, Ontario

Hannah Doucet, Winnipeg, Manitoba

Seamus Gallagher, Halifax, Nova Scotia

Andrew Godsalve, Hinton, Alberta

Zackery Hobler, Toronto, Ontario

Zainab Hussain, Ottawa, Ontario

Katherine Nakaska, Toronto, Ontario

Anna Kasko, Vancouver, British Columbia

Thibaut Ketterer, Montreal, Quebec

Luther Konadu, Winnipeg, Manitoba

Paulina MacNeil, Boston, Massachusetts

Ethan Murphy, Toronto, Ontario

Zinnia Naqvi, Montreal, Quebec

Wynne Neilly, Hamilton, Ontario

Curtiss Randolph, Toronto, Ontario

Nicholas Aiden Ryan, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador

Melissa Tremblett, Cornerbrook, Newfoundland and Labrador

Graeme Wahn, Vancouver, British Columbia

Matthew Wong, Surrey, British Columbia

These talented Canadian artists were selected by the New Generation Photography Award Nomination Committee - a panel of 12 photography experts from arts universities and colleges across Canada.

"The New Generation Photography Award provides a marvelous opportunity to review some of the best and most exciting imagery being produced by an up-and-coming generation of artists," says Andrea Kunard, the Associate Curator of the Canadian Photography Institute.  "The prize celebrates their artistic vision, and most importantly offers support and encouragement for both nominees and winners."

Three winners will be selected from the New Generation Photography Award longlist by an esteemed jury consisting of Canadian and international photography experts, artists, and leaders in the community. The winners, who will be announced April 3, 2019, will receive a cash prize of $10,000 each. Additionally, they will be featured in a group exhibition at the Gladstone Hotel during the Scotiabank CONTACT Photography Festival in Toronto, May 1 – June 9, 2019 and at the Canadian Photography Institute PhotoLab located at the National Gallery of Canada in Ottawa September 27, 2019.

Members of the jury include:

  • Ann Thomas, Interim Chief Curator/ Conservatrice en chef intérimaire, National Gallery of Canada/Musée des beaux-arts du Canada, Chair of the Jury;

  • Angela Grauerholz, Artist and past Scotiabank Photography Award winner (2015);

  • Deanna Pizzitelli, Artist and past winner of the New Generation Photography Award (2018); and,

  • Erandy Vergara, Independent Curator.

    Learn more about the New Generation Photography Award and Scotiabank's commitment to the arts by visiting: http://www.scotiabank.com/arts.

Latest Stories